Goumi Fruit Bears Fruit

Two months ago, I wrote that  I got to taste the fruit and can say that the quest has been well worth it.  Goumi is a sweet, juicy treat.

Well, those three little rubies have produced more treats – SEEDLINGS!  I stuck the seeds from the three fruit in some barely moist peat moss and put them in the germination fridge.  They got covered over by some bags of stratifying Japanese red maple seeds.  I checked them a couple of times and then forgot about them.  Two days ago when I was checking the JRM seeds, I picked up the baggie with with the goumi seeds and noticed a small root.  It turns out that all three seeds have germinated.  They were eight months in stratification!!!!  I really do wish that I could learn to be completely patient with Nature. Leave things alone and she will give you a yield.

 

This entry was posted in Fruits & Vegetables, Propagation. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Goumi Fruit Bears Fruit

  1. Jane says:

    How wonderful! You have a very green thumb. 🙂
    Maybe you’ll have some seedlings to sell at some point. Do let me know if that happens, please. My Comfrey grew beautifully all summer and into the fall.

    • MikeH says:

      Hi Jane,

      I’m not sure that it was a green thumb as much as forgetting about them and then accidentally checking them and realizing that they had germinated. I think that luck is closer to the mark. Notwithstanding, it looks like seeds have to be fresh and then cold stratified until they germinate. It I get any fruit this coming year, I’ll repeat what I did this year and see what happens. If I can figure out how to consistently propagate goumi, I’ll definitely be making them available.

      Glad to here that the comfrey did well for you. I’ll bet that you saw an increase in bumble bees in your garden. If you see a number of queens in the spring, that means that they may be nesting somewhere close to you.

      Regards,
      Mike

  2. Angela says:

    Im super excited to see you have the goumi growing!!! Your original post was 7 years ago. That’s persistent!

    I just received 2 scarlet gem goumis in the mail today (my first.). I am hopeful that they survive the winter (zone 4a loamy sand. )

    I intend to try and air layer them or possibly grow our some autum olive I found in Virginia this summer and graft on to them. Wish me luck.

    • MikeH says:

      They will grow from cuttings. The success rate is not high. Use a seed starting tray with a humidity dome. Lee Valley used to sell humidity domes but not any more it seems. Home Hardware does.

      Use a rooting mix of three parts coarse perlite to one part good compost. I like Fafard’s Sea Compost because of its seaweed and shrimp content. You need porosity so that the cutting will not rot. The compost feeds the cutting when the roots emerge. Keep the tray out of direct sunlight. As long as there is moisture beading on the inside of the dome, there is no need to add water. Cuttings root in 4-8 weeks.

      I have some cuttings that I started using this setup but on a heating pad under lights because it’s so close to winter. I started six cuttings on September 7. Two remain with leaves still on and are providing resistance when I do a gentle tug test. I’ll leave them until I see roots at the drain holes and then carefully pot up.

      When you get fruit, save the seeds. Don’t let them dry out. Put them in a baggie of slightly moist vermiculite and put them in the refrigerator. Check once a month. When you have germination, carefully move to a seed germination tray. Don’t be in too much of a rush to move them. I had 100% germination on 4 seeds from fruit that was on the plant when I bought it. I rushed the potting up and 2 seedlings then failed. It seems that goumi seedlings are slow to establish. The two seedlings that survived are now 10″ tall and nicely branched.

      You could try grafting onto autumn olive but I think that you’ll get a lot of suckering from below the graft. Autumn Olive is a vigorous plant.

      Mike

Leave a Reply

