A Better Mousetrap

I rarely promote a product but I’m making an exception today.  Last August, I wrote about my scythe purchase, use, and initial impressions.  Since then I’ve really come to love using my scythe.  To keep the blade sharp you use a whetstone.  It’s a real art – see the 3:40 mark of this video.

I have a whetstone and I was slowly learning how to use it until I came across tungsten or sub-micron sharpening technology.  We have a Bypass Pruner and Sharpener Set from Home Hardware.  The pruner does a poor job making clean cuts even when sharp but the sharpener is something special.  The first time that I used it on my regular secateurs I was truly impressed.  Unlike regular sharpeners, it literally shaves away metal.  The edge was beyond razor sharp.  So when Lee Valley came along with their version, I decided to purchase a his and hers for the garden.  They’re even better than the Home Hardware version which takes me back to the point of this post – I started using this sharpener instead of the whetstone to sharpen my scythe. What was previously sharp is now dull by comparison to the new sharp.  I can scythe 4″ high lawn grass if I choose to (which I don’t).

So there you have it, a better mouse trap from Lee Valley.  They do sell real mousetraps but I don’t know if they’re better or not.

This entry was posted in Miscellaneous. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to A Better Mousetrap

  1. Lud says:

    That is the most unproductive demo of scythe sharpening. My dad used a scythe all his life and the sharpening is done in in 2 positions – once with one hand holding the top at midpoint and second is with the hand hold at the tip. The sharpening is done by passing the stone alternatively on both sides. A drystone works just as well as long as it is tough and coarse. Yes it does wear the blade more quickly but when you need to cut enough hay for the winter, speed is of the essence. Also the pole end of the scythe must be sharp as it must be jammed into the ground firmly to keep the blade stable when sharpening.

    • MikeH says:

      He’s holding the top at the midpoint and he’s alternating strokes starting at the 3:40 point in the video. I’d love to be able to work the stone as fast and rhythmically as he does.

Leave a Reply

